You have got to read this book!

Unless, of course, you know nothing of, and could care less about advertising.

“I’ve been in the advertising business over 30 years. But don’t hold that against me.

I’ve seen the business gyrate, dance, change its clothes, grow a goatee, shave a goatee, and go virtual and back more times that I care to remember. But I’ve never seen it as dazed and confused as it is today.

With all the changes we’re experiencing in modes of communication and delivery systems, it’s not surprising that people are confused. The purpose of this book … is (to remind you) that advertising has one simple purpose: to find something interesting to say that will make someone buy your stuff.”

The book makes a long story, short, and it’ a fast read at only 65 pages … but Author Bob Hoffman (CEO of Hoffman/Lewis Ad Agency in San Francisco and St Louis) has crammed so much of his “cut the clutter” wisdom in between the covers, it’s almost overwhelming … which is no problem since it only takes a 45 minute plane trip to read the book again.

Check it out now at the Ad Contrarian Blog.

I’d like to point out that the first valuable lesson is in that last quoted paragraph (which, incidentally, appears in the Preface of the book) and for the sake of all Ad People and Bloggers, I again quote: to “find something interesting to say …”

Do you have any idea how difficult that is? Do you, Really? You do, if you’ve been blogging for long. Or writing Ads.

So I’ll make a deal with you. If you’ll check back with me every once in awhile, I’ll try my best to make it worth your while … or, at the very least, to make it interesting.

Leave a Reply

